The Waltons - Season 4 PG

The Waltons

Ways to Watch

Available to buy


  • DVD
    • Amazon


The Waltons Season 4

As every member of the Walton family strives to follow his or her dreams during the hard years of the Depression, each finds the bonds of family - which at times seem stifling - to be their greatest source of strength in this heartwarming dramatic series about growing up in a rural Appalachian family.

Episode guide

  1. 01 - The Sermon

    When Walton Mountain's only schoolteacher and its minister suddenly decide to get married, their only chance for a honeymoon depends on Olivia taking over the classroom and John-Boy giving the Sunday sermon.

  2. 02 - The Genius

    The Walton household is upset when John-Boy brings home a teenage college-student genius with a photographic memory.

  3. 03 - The Fighter

    The Walton family befriends a young, black preacher who wants to earn money to start his own church by becoming a professional prizefighter.

  4. 04 - The Prophecy

    Thinking himself a failure compared to his more successful former classmates, John Walton is apprehensive and irritable as he contemplates his high school class' 25th reunion.

  5. 05 - The Boondoggle

    When an investigative reporter comes to Walton's Mountain to write a historical guide to the State of Virginia, he uncovers a secret that embarrasses the Baldwin sisters and angers the rest of the community.

  6. 07 - The Breakdown

    Jason Walton stretches himself to the breaking point by working too hard to prove his self-worth.

  7. 07 - The Wingwalker

    "Death-Defying Bobby Storm," a beautiful, young stuntwoman, offers her dangerously troubled heart to John-Boy Walton

  8. 08 - The Competition

    Olivia Walton and her daughter, Erin, must face intense life challenges when forced to give up newfound love relationships.

  9. 09 - The Emergence

    The Walton children learn that it is not easy having their mother as a substitute teacher, and John-Boy rediscovers a former girlfriend.

  10. 10 - The Loss

    When a young widow comes to stay in their home, the Walton children learn a hard lesson about how to cope with another person's grief.

  11. 11 - The Abdication

    John-Boy Walton shares an inner bond with Edward the Eighth, King of England, when he faces the most important professional and personal decision of his life.

  12. 12 - The Estrangement

    A frightened, young mother seeks refuge in the Walton home when she leaves her husband.

  13. 13 - The Nurse

    Mary Ellen's ambition to become a nurse is tested by disappointment and an experience with death.

  14. 14 - The Intruders

    A rival lumber company threatens to put Walton and Sons out of business, and young Ben Walton picks the worst possible time to leave home.

  15. 15 - The Search

    Olivia, Jim Bob and Elizabeth become lost on Walton's Mountain.

  16. 16 - The Secret

    Convinced he was adopted, young Jim-Bob Walton searches for the truth about his birth and finds it shrouded in mystery.

  17. 17 - The Fox

    Grandpa Zeb Walton is just as surely trapped by a set of unique circumstances as a wild, young mountain animal captured by Ben Walton.

  18. 18 - The Burn Out - Part I

    A flash fire demolishes the second floor of the Walton's house and begins a series of events that threatens to destroy the family.

  19. 19 - The Burn Out - Part II

    A flash fire demolishes the second floor of the Walton's home and starts a series of events that threatens to destroy the family.

  20. 20 - The Big Brother

    John-Boy undertakes an act of charity that exposes the family to the unexpected wiles of a most unlikely con artist.

  21. 21 - The Test

    Olivia Walton must choose between her family and a career when she is offered a remarkable business opportunity.

  22. 22 - The Quilting

    Grandma is determined to have a quilting for Mary Ellen to announce she's of marrying age. But Mary Ellen considers the custom insulting.

  23. 23 - The House

    Grandpa Walton wins a contract to demolish an old house that holds many dear memories for Grandma.

  24. 24 - The Fledgling

    Would-be newspaper publisher John-Boy battles to scrape together enough money for an old printing press.

  25. 25 - The Collision

    A former girlfriend returns to Walton's Mountain and challenges John-Boy to reexamine his goals.