The Waltons Season 1

Available to buy

The Waltons - Season 1 PG

The Waltons

Ways to Watch

Available to buy


  • DVD
    • Amazon


The Waltons Season 1

Working to survive the lean years of the Depression, the Walton family learns that love and compassion are the best weapons against the hardships of life - as well as the intolerance they encounter both locally and in the world outside Walton's Mountain.

Episode guide

  1. 01 - The Hunt

    Unable to pull the trigger to shoot a turkey on his first hunting trip, John-Boy proves his courage by saving his father's life.

  2. 02 - The Reunion

    John-Boy unexpectedly becomes an undercover agent for the sheriff, when an unscrupulous relative of the Baldwin sisters uses their "recipe" for whiskey for his own gain.

  3. 03 - The Foundling

    When the Waltons teach sign language to an abandoned deaf girl, the love created by their concern reunites the child with her family.

  4. 04 - The Love Story

    John-Boy Walton finds himself in love for the first time when a young girl in need of love and attention returns to her remarried father's home on Walton's Mountain.

  5. 05 - The Carnival

    Olivia's concern over the friendship between the Walton children and four stranded carnival performers turns to respect and admiration after the family is invited to a private performance.

  6. 06 - The Typewriter

    When John-Boy secretly borrows an antique typewriter from the Baldwin sisters, his sister innocently sells it to a junkman.

  7. 07 - The Calf

    Elizabeth and Jim Bob rebel when John announces they need to sell Chance's calf.

  8. 08 - The Dust Bowl Cousins

    The unexpected arrival of the Waltons' cousins creates havoc in the home, but John-Boy learns a good lesson from Grandpa.

  9. 09 - The Star

    Grandpa Walton believes a shooting star is an omen of death until he learns that another superstitious belief may result in the Baldwin sisters losing their famous still.

  10. 10 - The Fire

    Tragedy strikes the life of a young girl befriended by the Waltons when her drunken father burns the schoolhouse in the name of religion after he learns the children are being taught the theory of evolution.

  11. 11 - The Deed

    John-Boy leaves home to get a job to help pay legal fees when the Waltons are in danger of losing the mountain because their forebears never filed a deed.

  12. 12 - The Ceremony

    A family of Jewish refugees comes to Walton's Mountain from Nazi Germany, and the family members worry that the persecution they have suffered will continue in their new country. But when John-Boy arranges for a rabbi to perform a bar mitzvah ceremony, the family regains its dignity and finds a home in America.

  13. 13 - The Sinner

    A young preacher staying a few days with the Waltons leads John-Boy to learn the meaning of grace.

  14. 14 - The Boy From The C.C.C.

    An injured runaway boy who is taken in by the Waltons unexpectedly betrays their trust.

  15. 15 - The Literary Man

    A self-styled writer sends John-Boy's literary dreams soaring so high that the Waltons lose an important wood-cutting contract.

  16. 16 - The Legend

    While visiting the Walton family, an old World War I buddy of John's tries to hide his failure in life with a barrage of wartime tales about his daring deeds.

  17. 17 - The Actress

    A world-famous actress becomes a reluctant houseguest of the Waltons when her car breaks down and she is abandoned by her chauffeur.

  18. 18 - The Gypsies

    Despite dire predictions that a band of gypsies will steal from the Waltons, John-Boy invites them to live in the family home until they can fix their wagon.

  19. 19 - The Minstrel

    Mary Ellen becomes enamored of a 19-year-old wandering minstrel and fails to help the family at a time when she is needed.

  20. 20 - The Scholar

    John-Boy demonstrates love and understanding as he teaches a proud but uneducated woman how to read and write.

  21. 21 - The Courtship

    When Olivia's uncle, a fastidious man of 64, visits Walton's Mountain after an absence of 30 years, he becomes involved with a divorcée who is eager to marry again.

  22. 22 - The Bicycle

    When John-Boy puts into poetic words the heartfelt thoughts of the local blacksmith, the letters win the stoic mountaineer a bride. But the bride, dreaming of the man in the letters, is shocked when she meets the blacksmith.

    Olivia, who has always had dreams of becoming a professional singer, devotes so much time to singing in church that her family begins to feel neglected.

  23. 23 - The Townie

    John-Boy is caught in an emotional whirlwind when an innocent afternoon movie date with a pretty girl opens the floodgates of her suppressed and impassioned desires.